Deleting a Bitwig Activation file on my computer

The activation file in Bitwig stores information on your license. In some rare cases it can be useful or necessary to delete your activation file. After doing so, when you start the app, you'll then be able to login to your Bitwig user account to activate your computer again.

Here's how to delete the activation file on each operating system:

Windows:

  1. Open a windows explorer and go to the following folder:
    C:\Users\[username]\App Data\Local\Bitwig Studio
  2. Find and delete any files called .activation-1-1 or with other numbers
  3. Restart Bitwig Studio

macOS:

  1. Open a Finder window and go to the following folder:
    [username]/Library/Application Support/Bitwig/Bitwig Studio
  2. Find and delete any files called .activation-1-1 or with other numbers
  3. Restart Bitwig Studio

Linux:

  1. Go to the folder:
    home/[username]/.BitwigStudio/
  2. Find and delete any files called .activation-1-1 or with other numbers
  3. Restart Bitwig Studio

Note that the activation files on macOS and Windows are hidden. Here are articles that describe how to make them visible on macOS, and Windows.

Was this helpful?

Please login to give your Feedback.

Didn't find what you're looking for?

Get in touch with us if you need help with a technical issue, if you have questions about licenses or your account, or any other inquiry. We look forward to hearing from you.